Get a SWIFT/BIC code, save money

You can find SWIFT/BIC codes here. But hang on... if you’re sending or receiving through a bank, you could be paying too much. You could save money with TransferWise.

What is a SWIFT / BIC code?

Bank code A-Z 4 letter code. It usually looks like a shortened version of that bank's name.
Country code A-Z 2 letter code. It says which country that bank is in.
Location code 0-9 A-Z 2 digit location code that could be either 2 letters or numbers. It says where that bank's head office is.
Branch Code 0-9 A-Z Optional 3 digit code. It specifies a particular branch, instead of the bank's head office. 'XXX' for head office.
credit card
SWIFT / BIC code
The SWIFT Code is a standard format for Business Identifier Codes (BIC) and it's used to uniquely identify banks and financial institutions globally - it says who and where they are. These codes are used when transferring money between banks, in particular for international wire transfers or SEPA payments. Banks also use these codes to exchange messages.

Using a bank? You could be losing money.

Most banks show their transfer fee upfront. That’s only fair. But some of them sneak a markup into the exchange rate. And that’s not fair.

A markup means you get a bad exchange rate. And that means you could lose money, every time you send or receive it.

At TransferWise, we never mark up the exchange rate. We just use the exchange rate – independently provided by Reuters. That means fair, low-cost transfers, every time.

Heard enough?

Join over a million people who’ve bypassed the banks and sent money with TransferWise.

Start saving


Where can I send money with TransferWise?

TransferWise serves over 300 transfer routes. You can learn more about the countries TransferWise supports here.

Do I need an IBAN number?

It depends on the country you're sending money to. In the Eurozone, you'll always need an IBAN and a SWIFT BIC code. Banks in the USA use SWIFT codes, but they don't use IBANs. It's the same in New Zealand too. Learn more about IBANs here.

Which countries are within the SEPA?

As of today, 35 countries in the extended Eurozone are within the SEPA (Single European Payments Area) - including the United Kingdom, Switzerland and Germany. Learn more about which countries are in the SEPA here.


TransferWise takes no responsibility for any money you lose because you’ve used the wrong code.

If you’re not sure about any of the details you’re using, get in touch with the bank or financial institution in question. They should be able to give you the right information.